3 min read

Prompt 16: Rhythm

An invitation to tune into (and tweak) the rhythms in our lives.
Prompt 16: Rhythm

This week's prompt is a little different - it's a quote and a word for us to ponder.

The word is 'rhythm', and the quote is from novelist Henry Miller.

💡
"The art of living is based on rhythm - on give & take, ebb & flow, light & dark, life & death.

By acceptance of all aspects of life, good & bad, right & wrong, yours & mine, the static, defensive life, which is what most people are cursed with, is converted into a dance, 'the dance of life,' metamorphosis."

Henry Miller

This week I invite us to pay attention to the rhythms in our lives.

scrabble, scrabble pieces, lettering, letters, wood, scrabble tiles, white background, words, quote, letters, type, typography, design, layout, focus, bokeh, blur, photography, images, image, inhale, exhale, repeat, keep going, breathe, life rhythm, relax, persistence, perspective, endurance, pause,
Photo by Brett Jordan / Unsplash

Maybe it starts with creating some time to ponder the rhythms of your body. To be present as you listen to the beat of your heart and the soft sound of your regular breathing.

Maybe it is about spending time in nature and listening to the rhythms. The regularity in the crashing of waves comes to mind. Or maybe there are other rhythms around you that you can tune into (the ticking of clocks etc).

Photo by Axel Antas-Bergkvist / Unsplash

Or maybe this week, the invitation is to ponder the rhythm of our lives.

  • What are the rhythms or patterns of life for you right now?
  • Are the rhythms life-giving, or are they unhealthy?

It strikes me that many of the times in my life where I've felt most alive are when I create a steady rhythm of positive life-giving 'beats' in my life. We've been talking about some of the things over the past few weeks.

Healthy rhythms of work, rest, creativity, connection, play, learning, exercise, gratitude, contemplation etc. The benefits of healthy beats in these areas add up over time in a positive way.

Conversely, there are times when the rhythms of life can become unhealthy. Cycles of negative thinking, unhealthy eating, poor use of time etc can become a rhythm that accumulates and can lead to a dark place.

💡
What is the rhythm of life for you right now? Does the rhythm of your life need tweaking?

If I'm honest with myself (and with you), I think there are a few areas I need to tweak.

Exercise is one of those.

Home gym equipment by ProsourceFit dumbbells and Mizuno sneakers
Photo by Alexandra Tran / Unsplash

It's winter here, and getting out for a walk and creating space to get my heart pumping has been harder.

I need to add that steady beat back into my life.

Similarly, there are a few unhealthy beats to my rhythm right now. Again on a health front - one of them is some poor food choices (I have a sweet tooth).

Flat lay food photography of chocolate on black and gray background
Photo by Tamas Pap / Unsplash

It might be time for me to remove a beat (or two) of chocolate each day!

OK - I've gotten that off my chest (and hopefully, doing so might remove a little weight off my tummy) - it's over to you.

Would love to hear where your pondering takes you this week! Don't forget to stop by the group to let us know how you go.

💡
Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance and order and rhythm and harmony. - Thomas Merton

First time reading? Sign up for our weekly prompts below.